I’m working with a client right now who’s got a weight loss goal of over 50 lbs. She’s excited by the prospect of becoming a new person, though the end goal feels a little intimidating. God, I know how that feels.

There’s a reason that people with big weight loss goals (50 lbs or more) struggle with seeing results–that’s a big damn number! I remember when I faced down my own weight loss goal of 100 lbs back in 2011. It felt huge in my mind, almost to the point of saying, “Fuck it. It’ll never happen.” Spoiler alert: it happened for me. It’ll happen for my client, too.

When it comes to big weight loss, just like any other massive goal, how you frame the challenge determines how you’ll tackle it. I couldn’t lose 100 lbs all at once…

…but what I lost just 10 lbs?

The Power of 10 Lbs

I could go on about all the benefits that come from losing 10 lbs gives to your body: lower blood pressure, drop a clothing size, boosts energy, etc. Beyond all of those benefits, there’s something *psychological* about losing 10 lbs that makes it possible, even simple, that losing 50+ lbs simply cannot match.

Aiming to lose 10 lbs puts you in a useful mindset: small goals inspire you to reach them, then exceed them. And what to small wins give us on our way to a big goal? Victories! Why celebrate losing 50 or 100 lbs when you can celebrate losing 10? Losing 100 lbs feels impossible; losing 10 lbs feels like *I can keep going*.

My client may not be able to lose 50+ lbs right now, but she can lose 10 lbs, 5-10 times in a row.

Baby Steps

Set yourself up to win. Make a deal with yourself (and your accountability buddy!) to lose 10 lbs in the next month. Even if your goal is to lose 50 or 90 or 120 lbs, agree to lose 10 lbs now. Ask what it would take to lose 10 lbs, and then do those things. You may not reach the end of the journey yet, but I tell you from experience: those first 10 lbs will push you to the next small win, then the next. I lost 100 lbs that way: losing 10 lbs at a time until I reached my goal. I did it, and you can do it. My client will do it.

I believe in you.

Leave a Reply

