It’s no surprise to me
I am my own worst enemy
‘Cause every now and then I kick the living shit out of me
– Lit, “My Own Worst Enemy”

We tend to be pretty hard on ourselves.

Did I say “hard”? I meant cruel, judgmental, and downright mean.

There’s a common phrase that I hear from people I’ve trained over the years: “I’ll never be…” We use it to beat ourselves up from within, to cut ourselves down without even realizing what we’re doing. I’ll show you:

• “I’ll never be a supermodel.”
• “I’ll never be a skinny mini like she is.”
• “I’ll never be toned.”
• “I’ll never be as pretty as those other people.”
• “I’ll never be *good enough*.”

Do you see how this kind of self-talk can block your progress on just about anything? When we say these things to ourselves, what we’re really saying is, “I’m never going to succeed at this new lifestyle, so why even bother to start?”

Flip the Script

Your inner self is the most fragile person you know: there’s only one person that can protect it! Instead of tearing your inner self down with unfair comparison of how you’ll “never be” someone else, replace those thoughts with true statements about how “I already am”:

• “I already am focusing on my health.”
• “I already am working to lose the weight.”
• “I already am working out for myself.”
• “I already am an attractive person.”
• “I already am *worth it*.”

Remember: the only person you should compare yourself to is the person you were yesterday. Work on being better than the old you every day, and you’re going to get to where you want to go.

I believe in you.

Leave a Reply

